Where I Stand

I have worked at the same school district for over 11 years. In that time my thinking and views on education have changed. I was hoping that my district would change and move forward. I read and talked to people on twitter about change happening around  the world. After a recent meeting with administrators and the technology coordinator in my district I have come to the conclusion we are not moving in the same direction. That is a scary outlook when you think about it. Then I started thinking about this past fall, the joy and excitement I had in a class I joined #ECI831.  One of the guest speakers was Dave Cormier. On this particular night a portion of the class discussion revolved around three outcomes the workers, soldiers, and nomads.  At the time I did not apply his theories to my own life. It is only now as I try to make sense of where and what I need for the future does his words have importance in my life. He believed learning should be self-directed which I agree with. That is why I feel like I have to discover new paths. Leave and look for new opportunities.

Old Assumption

Before I graduated from grad school, I thought once I had the degree and the credentials then I would have the ticket, the position would be there. I would be happy and free to do what is needed to help others understand the world in which we live. I was wrong on that one.

Which brings me to the ultimate question I have asked myself, “What do you want to do with yourself?” I realized the answer to that question after reading Dean Shareski’s posting Understanding the Digital Divide. I am looking to connect with people and ideas, be part of a community who cares about learning. My degree, MSED Educational Technology is what I worked so hard to obtain.  I love the excitement and creative nature that the field has to offer. The novelty of the acquiring the latest hardware and new tools no longer satisfies me.  So what do I want to focus my energies on? I guess it has to do with connecting with different people from around the world. I agree with Dean when he mentions the divide is vast. I have witnessed that similar experiences. But I think this is what has shaped my thinking most of all. I want to be someone to help narrow that gap. I like connecting with others, sharing, and creating learning experiences that are authentic and rich. There you have it, what I want to do!

I did not attend the Educon conference but I do know if I want to follow the discussions and issues I can find more information online via Twitter using #educon. Like Dean, there are many smart people out there willing to share their thoughts. What has been your experience? How have you influenced someones learning?

This entry was posted in Digital Divide and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

