All types of learners

I have come to  realize that when you think of learners you must think of everyone that can include parents, relatives, and yes administrators. Students are the people who usually come to mind when you typically think of learners but as society starts to embrace new technologies we must understand and be willing to work with all the members of society. I am shifting my focus to adult learners when I teach because I feel that they are the ones that have such an influence on the “younger learners.” Which brings me to the studies of Malcolm Knowles, Adults are autonomous and self-directed. They need to be free to direct themselves. Their teachers must actively involve adult participants in the learning process and serve as facilitator for them. Specifically, they must get participants’ perspectives about what topics to cover and let them work on projects that show their interests. They should allow the participants to assume responsibility for presentations and group leadership. They have to be sure to act as facilitator, guiding participants to their own knowledge and not supplying them with facts. Finally, they must show participants how the class will help them reach their goals (e.g., via a personal goals sheet). 

I enjoy helping others navigate through the technology world, yet I do not feel that I am doing it on my own. I feel it is the network of friends and colleagues that I network with that adds to this fulfillment.

This entry was posted in collaboration, Facilitation, Integration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

